The Week That Shall Be…

What’s on tap:

Taking the girls to the aeropuerto at 0 ugly early a.m. tommorrow.  Then, I will ride my bike and maybe mow the lawn, pack and what not.  It’ll be the first night I’ve spent alone in our house since Dec. 03, the month after we moved in.  Kelly was still working in Long Beach at the time.  She was a teacher and quit resigned at Xmas break.  Anyhoo, my girls are going back to the LBC, which makes me a bit jealous.  They may just get to see my sister and her family which makes me more jealous. 

Sunday, I’ll be hitting the road jack in the big truck with ChrisE for the bright lights of Vegas.  Let it be known, I’m  not what you call a huge fan of the Vegas.  I’ve probably driven through at least 25X and stopped once.  For Slurpees. 

Anyway, I’ll spend the week on my feet convincing people that our wheels are the best.  It is nice to sell something you believe in.  I would’ve have told you long before I worked here that our stuff was tops.  Bunch of company dinners and what-not, and I’ll try to make it out to ‘Cross Vegas to cheer on my man Sam.  Thursday night is the big ProCrit tm World Championships of the World Criterium Championships of the World Presented by ProCrit, after which I’ll party like a rock star.  A rock star that has been through rehab and doesn’t drink, smoke, gamble (ie- burn money), or go to strip clubs.  Yeah, Vegas is perfect for me.  One more day on my feet, and then we pack up the truck on Saturday.  I am hoping to avoid driving the truck home, so I can burn my way up to the Harvest Moon Crit that night.  Don’t know how the legs will be after that week and 7+ hours in the car, but after coming oh-so-close last year, I don’t want to miss it.  I think this is one of the best races we have in Utah, and yeah, I want to rock it like back in ’04.  Wow, that’s a long time ago.  I will definitely pack the State Chump jersey for this one, Ut Rider, but not for Vegas.  Thanks for the vote of confidence all the same.

Sunday I’m going to teach Kelly’s class at church.  Can you imagine? 

“You see kids there’s this passage I got memorized. Ezekiel 25:17. “The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he who, in the name of charity and good will, shepherds the weak through the valley of the darkness. For he is truly his brother’s keeper and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know I am the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon you.”

Umm, yeah, anyway.  That means skipping the first cross race.  But, I will be out there soon enough.  The bike is ready and I’ve been practicing curb hopping on the roadie, which may come in handy in the upcoming crits as well! 

Anyway, this is a long post, but it could be the only one for awhile.  Or I could do another today and update daily from the road.  Stay tuned just in case.

Leave a Reply

