Mud Biking

So, I got the cross bike dirty over the weekend.  For my out of state friends, it was rain/snow mix at the Heber City Fairgrounds with a high around 40.  Everybody was talking about it being all hard, but I gotta tell ya, a five hour road race in similar conditions is way harder as you are coasting half the time(so you get cold), plus it’s 5X as long.  Another added benefit for cross is that going slower (at least I was going slower), you don’t end up with that mud/sand/grit mix nearly as far into your ears as you do on the road.  Anyway, it was real fun.  I made a couple crucial errors. 

Firstly, I put Kelly’s mountain bike pedals on my bike that morning, forgetting that at sub 100lbs, she doesn’t need too much tension on the pedals, so I pulled out pretty much every other time I stood up.  Including the start.  With both feet.  To quote Idiocracy, “Ow, My Balls!”.

Second, the start is where it’s at.  I think knowing my skillz aren’t so skillful, I didn’t want to get in the way of the good guys.  I should probably not sweat that kind of stuff anymore.  Back in the day, we had a game where we’d see who could get to the first corner first in crits.  Yeah, I will try to remember to pack the BMX start next time.

Anyway, don’t get me wrong.  The truth is I need to improve a lot, and these two factors probably made no difference.  I tried to follow Bart and Muhammad Ali when they LAPPED me.  I stayed with Bart for maybe three turns and learned a lot following him.  So smooth.  Also, AJ came by from the 35+ race that started 30 seconds after us.  I am pretty sure he was laughing at me.  Maybe that was payback from Sandy and I tag-teaming him at Antelope Island.  Anyway, thanks for the lessons, fellas.

Gardie was a great announcer.  I actually laughed out loud a couple times at his comments about me, which is hard when you are pinned.  For example, “I can tell you as his teammate, Ryan Barrett does not like to be lapped!”.  True enough, but does anyone like to be lapped?  Gardie was, of course, also ridiculously good looking.

Overall, it was quite a good time, and I am looking forward to getting out there again for more hot man-on-man mud biking action.

4 thoughts on “Mud Biking

  1. I wish I could have stayed to watch! Don’t worry, I gagged down my humble pie along with the mud and poo I managed to flip into my mouth during my 45 minute beating.

    Good times.

  2. Oh sure, show up to a cross race once I leave. I have SO MUCH dirt on you for announcing it’s silly! I could talk about you and the leader alone for an entire hour. Note: if you WERE the leader, my head would pop.

  3. I didn’t have a cross bike when you were here. The obvious answer is that if you wanted me to race, you should have given me a bike.

Leave a Reply

