Failure

Attempted to ride into work this morning.  Front light went out about two miles into the ride.  Then, riding in the pitch black I hit a pot hole and flatted.  Changed the flat in the dark and noticed that it was getting rather late, so I rode straight over to my carpool buddy Chris’ pad instead.  Texted him to see when he was leaving, but he was already on the bus.  He jumped off the bus and rode his bike back to the house and we drove in. 

That’s all I have time for at the moment. 

5 thoughts on “Failure

  1. hey I flatted this morning on my way in too. 2 inch nail. Does anyone else feel silly changing a flat in traffic in your lycra nascar-ish get up?

  2. Not much traffic at 5am. And they wouldn’t be able to see me in the dark if there was. Plus I have no shame. Long term blog readers will recall that I used to ride the bus kitted up almost daily.

  3. Hey, I flatted this morning on my ride too. It was right on a freeway overpass. I did feel a bit silly changing my tire while tons of freeway traffic went by. One guy on a motorcycle stopped and asked if he could go to Timp bike shop and get anything for me. I told him I was fine, and as he went to leave I swear I heard him say, “Be careful with those carbon wheels.” Must’ve been a fellow cyclist.

    Anyway, I was late for where I was supposed to be, and my tire change was going entirely too slow, so I too called it a ride and found another way home.

  4. There’s a shortage of street sweepers as they’re all very busy sweeping the left shoulder on I-15. Apparently there’s a lot of donut crumbs there.

Leave a Reply

