American Beef

Some good news from the whole Ricco positive story.

In addition to Scott Bikes staying on, the Saunier Duval team is going forward with the name “American Beef”, which is, oddly enough, a meatpacking company based in Chihuahua, Mexico.  Anyway, the point is I would be proud as to have “American Beef” emblazoned across my chest.  In fact, I’d go so far as to say that for the honor of having “American Beef” on my jersey I would pay the company rather than vice versa.

Also, nice of Ricco to just say “yeah, I did it… Don’t bother with the B Sample” rather than blaming it on his invisible twin, his dog, his grandma, bolivian candy, the dentist, an extortionist, et al.  I really think the glory days of doping positive excuses are behind us.

Also note that like Diddy or Chris Fox, I am hereby changing my nickname to American Beef. 

Sincerely,

American Beef 

6 thoughts on “American Beef

  1. Haven’t you learned anything from Ricco and Pantani? Giving yourself a nickname can only end in tears.

    Or are you legally changing your name to American Beef? I guess it wouldn’t be a nickname in that case.

  2. I had the exact same thoughts reading the velonews/cycling news (i forget which) article.

    Though if I ever end up in a drag show I would also consider “Chihuahua Beef”.

  3. Watch out for those South Koreans. They have some issues with American beef. I hope American Beef doesn’t sponsor a women’s team. The name calling could get ugly.

  4. Central American Beef just doesn’t have the same ring to it.

    And is the new sponsorship part of your secret announcement coming in the near future? Did you sell yourself and the space across your back to the Mexicans?

    and considering your name change, do you announce your arrival home from work with a “Where’s the Beef? Right here, baby!” or a “Beef, it’s what’s for dinner!”

  5. Well, I haven’t made it home from work yet since the name change, but I would say there’s pretty decent odds I will walk in the door with a line like
    “Did someone order the American Beef?”

Leave a Reply

