Hate Mail

The following was in my facebook inbox:

Why did you steal the “12K Dream” theme from Labor Power. You know that the reference was created by Chris Hipp and then totally developed by Roger Worthington. Ironically, the fact that the youngsters on your Team actually seem to aspire to becoming forgettable low end professionals makes them the caricature that is being lampooned. Irony is in part when the actor does not even know he is the brunt of the joke.

Why not try to invent your own stuff.

My response: 

There is nothing new under the sun.

My co-conspirator in this “project” actually asked Roger for permission to use the expression. This happened at Tommy Nelson’s wedding, if you need to run a fact check. Permission was granted and we moved forward. We are very aware of the fact that the term is meant to make fun of exactly what we are about, and that’s why we went with it.

I appreciate your attempt to explain irony to me, but like Alanis Morissette, I am just not getting it.

I’ll keep you posted as this story develops.

15 thoughts on “Hate Mail

  1. Ooooh, I’ve been waiting for this one to “drop.” Although I didn’t know that you had permission from Roger to use the term — good form checking with him first.

    Poor form from your Facebook “friend” for getting his panties in such a wad. He may want to switch to decaf.

  2. I have been thinking of some alternative names pending a lawsuit against us:

    Canyon Bicycles-Sienna Dev’t. 100% Grounded in Reality Team
    CB-SD Team for Aspiring Low End Forgettable Professionals
    CB-SD School for Kids that Don’t Ride So Good and Want to Learn to do Other Stuff Good Too.

    Please add any suggestions you may have.

  3. at least this post removes me from the pool of potential annonymos who might have sent you that garbage. I for one love it, even though I named my bike team bidness 12k dream productions in anticipation of setting up a pro team. But I think we already talked about that when we were laughing about the name. Or maybe that was me and sleevie. Either way, that shit is funny right there.

  4. I still don’t get what’s so great about the coined term to begin with… why would anyone even fight for it, much less over it?

    People really need to join the military or work in an inner city hospital and get some f’ing perspective on what REAL issues are.

  5. Honestly, I’m not married to the name and if any of the Labor Powers that Be were to ask us to stop using it, I would. Although- I’m not reprinting jerseys and it’s on the back, and we’re not changing the website, at least until the end of the year.

  6. hippstar and hoverhawk and max kash all love it…those are the labor powers that be. Along with Gmo and Gspot. Billy is an angry old man. If that is who said it. I mean I dont know for sure. I do know that TS Fuggov loves it too.

Leave a Reply

