5am is the new 6am

Inspired by The People’s Champion and not being selected for the Tour of Utah, I got up at 5 this morning to pedal my bike.  I figure if he can do it in their winter, I should be able to man up in our summer.  In any case, the hardest part is just getting out of bed, especially as this still only affords me an hour to ride and what can you do in an hour, right?  Well, my mission is to find out what you can do in an hour, I guess.  Parked at the base of Suncrest and rode both sides, then on into work. 

Unfortunately, we’re hitting a little lull in the hot racing action here in Utah, so it may take a bit to see if my new hour of power helps or if I am just even more tired all the time.

I think we are going to go back to Long Beach next week for July 4th, but oddly, there’s no racing out there.  There is waaaay up by San Luis Obispo, but I’m pretty sure Kelly wants to stick close to the fam bam.  Me too, really.  Kinda wish we’d have planned it to hit up Manhattan Beach, but it wasn’t in the cards this year, I guess.

In other news, I got to cruise the mean streets of Provo last night by bicycle.  Provo is where it’s at.  Especially in the summer, and I think summer is finally here.  I really don’t think I want to move.  I mean we can move houses, but not to another town.  Straight outta Pleasant Grove ,or whatever, just doesn’t have the same ring.  Of course, I’ll likely change my opinion by tomorrow.  And when I say “I”, I mean Kelly.

14 thoughts on “5am is the new 6am

  1. If you lived in Draper you could ride both sides of Suncrest and then ride to work in the time it takes you to drive to Suncrest, ride both sides and drive to work.

    You’re a stubborn, stubborn man.

  2. Stubborn has nothing to do with it. If I worked in Provo, I could do a real ride, and leave the car in the garage.

  3. I just see a lot of similarities between your current situation and mine when I lived in Payson. I still miss that place and would love to move back someday. However, as long as I work in SLC I can’t justify the time required to commute. If you’re looking to change jobs in the near term and work in UT County then yeah, there’s no reason to look at houses in the SL valley.

    I apologize for beating this topic to death. It’s kind of like a minivan. Once you get one you’ll wonder how you survived without it for so long. 🙂

  4. Yeah, I wish I had a mini van too. While it would be tempting to drive it off a cliff and watch the explosion, I’d probably just sell it. And I like money.

  5. I’ll be interested to see what effect this 1hour regular ride has, if any.

    A while back I had a short 7 mile ride to work and I would TT it Tue/Wed/Thurs and spin on Monday and Friday. It was eye-opening what a difference just riding that short distance had on me because I did it daily.

    Namely, that I replaced my tires twice as often.

  6. Yeah, I’m not expecting some crazy change in form. Hopefully, I can climb a touch better. Outside of climbing, I feel like I’m having a pretty good year thus far, all things considered.
    In any case, I didn’t get home until after 9 last night, so I bailed on “the plan” on Day Two!

  7. Well, in all seriousness doing those short runs daily proved to be a really good focused effort, and upped my top end.

  8. So sensitive. Did you not see my facebook update? I’ll get around to posting again eventually and I’ll be sure to dedicate an entire post to the day the J-Rad came to visit me at work, aka, the day the earth stood still.

  9. Out in Pleasant Grove we say straight outta P.G., because that sounds better and plus we are way tougher then Provo.

  10. I just can’t get around the Parental Guidance reference enough to work with “Straight Outta P.G.-13”.

Leave a Reply

