Just for Clarification…

Someone thought a Facebook posting I did yesterday was in reference to cycling drama…

It read “why play for us if your heart’s not in in?”

It feels pretty stupid to have to do this, but since someone let me know that they “know” what I am talking about, it was not in any way in reference to cycling.  People change teams, sponsors come and go.  Yes, I am trying to build my little team, but if someone can find a better fit for them, please go for it.  I want the best for all of my friends, and if my program is not the best fit, so be it.

The quote is actually from those noted poet laureates “Gorilla Biscuits” and was stuck in my head after my lunch ride.

In retrospect, I can see how someone could have inferred that I was talking bike, but that was not the case.

“New Direction”
What do you mean it’s time, time for me to grow up? I don’t want any part.
It’s right to follow my heart. The new kids ran, ran out the back door fast,
and the bands that came before they had their noses in the air.
Pretending that they care about our scene just because our money’s green.
I’ll tell you stage dives make me feel more alive than coded messages in slowed down songs.
Now you just turn your back. You said I don’t want it anymore.
Old friends you attack. Our pain out of touch. You don’t get it do you?
New stage, new ideas. You don’t have to make excuses for us.
Sitting there looking back, I’m scared.
Don’t spoil memories of the way things were.

Now you’re so ashamed, now I’m so ashamed of you.
We believed the same things. You stand to the side.
Rebirth of hardcore pride. It all came true,
too bad you can’t see all the good things that I see.

Back in, back in the days when I’d wait to see the old bands play.
It didn’t seem like wasted days. I was so sincere, but now I see more clearly.
Music’s only work to them. It’s not to me. So I say hats off to bands that change.
Good luck, go your own way.
Why play for us if your heart’s not in it?
Cause what might seem dumb to you is pounding in my heart.

Now you’re so ashamed, now you’re so ashamed of you.
We believe the same things. You stand to the side.
Rebirth of hardcore pride. It all came true.
Too bad you can’t see. No, you just can’t see it.

2 thoughts on “Just for Clarification…

  1. I haven’t listened to GB in a long, long time but all too frequently that song magically pops into my head. I’m not into youth crew hardcore any more but that song still moves me. Thanks.

  2. Yeah, man. Put that stuff back in the player. They were definitely part of the scene, but for sure GB transcended the youth crew mentality.

Leave a Reply

