The Week in Review

I’m trying to get the blog back on track.

It’s been an up and down week. I went to Big Norm’s funeral on Wednesday. For those that don’t know, Norm II is the father of my teammate Norm Bryner (III) and has been at pretty close to every race that Norm has done as long as I’ve been in Utah. It was awful, and gut-wrenching and… inspirational. Yes, to hear from the family about the devotion he showed really moved me and made me want to be a better father. Normy gave a great talk.

Earlier in the week, 2 X TdF winner Laurent Fignon died of  cancer. Not someone I remotely can claim to know, but as someone tweeted “The 1989 TDF TT literally determined a big part of the direction I took in life.” And to finish that with another quote “and that has made all the difference”.

Friday began a four day weekend, so I was able to take Haley to school and pick her up and spend a good chunk of the day hanging out with my girls. Kelly rode with her dad in the morning and I still got a quick trip up S. Fork Provo Canyon in by  bicycle as well.

Saturday we took the fam-bam up, up, up into the Uintas- “the top of Utah”. Mirror Lake was crazy busy, but kids don’t care about that kind of stuff, so I didn’t either. It was ~65 degrees up there as opposed to 95 in the valleys. The girls were crazier than normal for whatever reason, but we had a fun day out. I’m sure Kelly will post pics soon.

Sunday I took Morgan out in the rikshaw for the first time in forever. Since we got the tandem, I have mostly dragged Haley around, but Morgan asked for a ride, so who am I to say no? I think she dug having all that room to herself, but she’ll have to make a spot for Piper soon enough.  We spent the afternoon cleaning out the house, in prep for the move. It’s amazing how much stuff you can get rid of.

Probably more of the same today and possibly purchasing a new fridge. D-day for the move is next Saturday, if the spirits are willing!