Tour De La Soul

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Remember these guys? Yeah, we did a tour in their honor. It definitely wasn’t “Tour Del Sol” as there was no sol in sight. Overall, it was a pretty successful weekend. I went in with really high hopes for our team and we didn’t quite pull it off, but we got the first mass start win under our belts and got the feel for racing together. I am going to give my personal feel for the race as I’ll have to do the team write up later and don’t really want to do it twice.

Before I get into it though, I gotta give it up to my Kelly… I’m sure she’ll have pictures from her weekend as a single mom in the cold desert shortly. It can’t be easy carting around three kids in the wind and cold all weekend, while I play bike racer, but the good news is we are still married. Honestly, we got through it pretty well. Not sure how.

Back to the race. There was a time trial. I sucked as per. I borrowed Jared Eborn’s bike and had the fastest wheelset on earth on, but probably should have ridden his bike more than once before racing it. That said, the bike was not the problem. I just can’t TT. If I had been really good, maybe I was 8th instead of 15th or something.

Then there was a crit. Canyon had 10 guys… People used to complain when we brought 8 Sienna guys, but whatever. Made things tricky. That said, the crit was our best stage. Sleevie and Garrett went 1-2 out of a break. I almost made it across to the break, but got popped off the chase group as soon as I caught on…. Needed that one more effort. It’ll come. Just need to blow the cobwebs out. The break wasn’t so good for us GC wise, but really by the time the RR was over, it made no difference.

I thought I might get dropped on the first hill in the RR, so I surprised myself by dragging in for 5th. I was in a bad way by the finish, but everyone was and I think I mostly just needed calories. Hardwood (Canyon) took everyone to school, being the lone survivor out of the early break and nailing the G.C.. He was with Sleevie and Jason Asay/DC. Asay/DC was last seen on the side of the road 25k from the finish. Not sure what happened there, but it looked like he just rode himself into the ground. Hopefully, he made it back to his car?  We caught Sleevie maybe 5k from the finish and he was ugly, paperboying all over the place. I wasn’t much better and I hadn’t been off the front all day.  To put a positive spin on it, only 11 guys finished! So um, yeah, it was hard.  Hopefully, I am seeing the fruits of a little more “training” and a little less “eating” over the winter and with a couple more races, we’ll see some of the old school mad crushing form. Usually I come out a stage race better and I definitely seemed to feel better with each stage this time, so here’s hoping.

I met up with the fam bam in Snow Canyon state park and had lunch before we hit the road. I’ll let Kelly fill you in on the dive I let our family stay in, Morgan’s crash, etc… Overall, I had a great time. I was amped like a junior to get racing again, and came out of it even more motivated.

Leave a Reply

