Reflection

Most likely anyone reading this (save maybe my mom), will know this, but Wouter Weylandt died in the Giro yesterday . Others have eulogized far more eloquently than I am able, but certainly this should cause all of us to pause. And to think.

I don’t consider cycling to be a dangerous sport.  Maybe I should? From my perspective, I may stack it in the last lap of a crit and lose some skin. And sure, someone I know will break a collarbone pretty much every year, but the thought of actually dying is pretty far from my thoughts…despite knowing several people (peripherally, if not closely) who’ve been killed.

A couple years ago I remember having the thought “if I haven’t quit racing now, I never will”. This spring has probably taken that to a new level. I spend a lot of time questioning what I’m doing… but the sport has given me so much. I don’t think I’ll ever be to the point where I’m giving back more than I’ve taken, but I am trying.

Sometimes I lose the balance for sure.

All-in-all, if you’re still alive, you have to do what you love. So today, I’ll get on my bike at some point. It may be half an hour on rollers after everyone else is asleep, but I’ll get it done and I’ll love it.

Sorry if this post is a little disjointed…just a lot of thoughts in my head at the moment.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Reflection

Leave a Reply

