Etta and Belle-Belle

I let the dogs out again on Monday night. No, it was not intentional, but I left the gate wide open after mowing the backyard. They were missing again overnight and I found them at a shelter the next morning. They’d been hit by a dumptruck, but were both alive. Belle seems fine. Etta is very sluggish. Not at all like my dogs. The vet wanted us to take them to an emergency facility, but we just can’t afford it right now, so I brought them home. Etta has been resting in the house. It’s been 36 hours now and she seems slightly better, but I am trying not to get excited because we still don’t know what’s happening internally.

Assuming they are okay, we may have to find a new home for the dogs. It pains me to say it, because I do love the pups, but living in constant fear that they’ll get out is taking it’s toll. It would be very difficult for me to explain that to my girls, especially Haley, who is super sensitive and loves all animals. On the other hand, it would be harder to tell her that they’ve been hit and killed. Most dogs run, but they don’t go so far. I think Britneys as a breed…they just run, full speed, for hours. Now that I’ve written it…I really don’t want to do that. 

Maybe we can look at an electric fence? Please let me know if you have other ideas or experiences.

2 thoughts on “Etta and Belle-Belle

Leave a Reply

