1999

One day in early summer 1999, Kelly called me. For a little background, I was living in Indianapolis (naptown- the circle city) for the summer, while she went home to Long Beach. Anyway, we were planning to get married after graduating the next year.

We literally spent every day together during the school year, so going cold turkey for the summer was not cool. Anyway, she gave me a holler and said something along the lines of “I was talking to my folks and… why don’t we just go ahead and get married this summer?”

I was a little shocked and it did require that I alter my important summer plans of bumming around at bike races, but I eventually conceded that this plan made quite a bit of sense.

Kelly made pretty much all the plans, and on August 7, we tied the proverbial knot.

Leave a Reply

