The Real UC

So this post came about from a twitter conversation… Everyone bags on the UC. Utah County, for those out of the know, is a very conservative place and where we are, in Provo, about 90% of the population is active LDS (mormon!).

We moved to Provo almost 8 years ago now. When we moved, everyone was telling me not to move to Utah, that the people are overbearing, critical, judgemental, etc. Pretty much exactly what my “friends” would say about Utah County, the rest of the world assumes the same about the entire state. This just one guys’ experience, but from the beginning this has not been the case for me. I was not a member of the dominant local religion (ahem, “The Church”) when we moved here and pretty much everyone I met welcomed me.

Don’t get me wrong, there are some people who are a bit extreme for my taste, but by and large, everyone always treated me respectfully and wanted to hear my opinions on things. This surprised me and probably had a lot to do with my eventual conversion. Yes, I am a “member” now.

So, I guess what I’m tryin to say is that if you are assuming people are judgemental… you may be the one passing judgement. There are a lot of supremely zealous people around here for sure, but there are way more very nice and respectful people.

Plus the roads are super quiet on Sundays! Haha.

Leave a Reply

