Hospital Visit

Ok, most of you are probably up on this, but hang tight wit’ me…

On Wednesday, Kelly had her normal doctor’s appointment check-up. They quickly assesed that she was showing signs of early labor. She’s 30 weeks for the record. She was admitted to the hospital to try and keep that bun in the oven as long as possible. She rang me at Interbike to let me know what was going on.

Obviously, this put a damper on the show for me, but as I needed to be around through Thursday for a couple meetings and there wasn’t that much I could do at home (she was already in the hospital and her folks were taking care of the girls), I had to stick it out. I even went out to the cross race that evening, but I was pretty much not my usual self.

Only managed a few hours sleep, but got through Thursdays’ meetings, probably not on my A game, but not so bad. Around 5:00, we left the show, but still had to go back out to Henderson to clean up the house. Got packed up and on the road around 7:30 (8:30 Utah time) and rallied that Penske truck through the night. Got in around 3:00 am and got a few hours sleep before Haley woke me up.

Got Haley to school and then took Morgan to see mom in the hospital. It was great seeing her, but it is tough to be gone so long and then be separated again. I’m sure it’s a whole lot worse for Kelly! She is in the hospital until at least Monday and she may be able to go home then, but will be on bedrest until this kid comes.  As much as having her on bedrest sucks, I hope that’s a long time yet!

I am pretty wrecked, but need to say thanks to Kelly’s folks for taking care of the girls!! They were planning to leave on Monday of next week, so we were pretty lucky with the timing… it would have sucked if they left and I was also out-of-town. Also, big thanks to all my friends for the kind words, thoughts, and prayers. They are sincerely appreciated.

Leave a Reply

