Pee Town Cross

So, the first P-Town cross went off tonight. It was sweet. I actually rode the course in the snow a few years back one time. Hats off to everyone involved. Good to see some biking action in the P.

After a horrible, no good, very bad day, we (la familia turbo) made it out there with about 5 minutes to spare, which was fine. It was good and low-key.

I took a couple years off, but it looks like nothing has changed and I still suck at cyclocross. Yeah, I am pretty out-of-shape and stuff, but the thing is I can still hold my own in a crit when I am a proverbial “fat bag of snacks”, but in cross it hardly matters. Good, bad, ugly, I just can’t go fast enough. I should probably learn how to go faster on dirt, I guess.

Oh, and if you’re thinking, well you just sit in in a criterium…you probably haven’t won them very often.

Road shoes may not have been the best choice, but it wouldn’t have made much difference.

What was awesome was when I was hurting and decided to check how far in I was. 14 minutes in.

Anyway, it was a righteous party and I hope to be back. Trying to talk Kelly into racing next time!

4 thoughts on “Pee Town Cross

  1. Again, the road shoes gave me trouble twice. The first time through the barriers I almost face planted and then the now infamous shot on the run-up. I lost at most 10 seconds due to these two issues. Maybe I could have been second to last instead of last. Magic 8 ball says signs point to me using road shoes again.

Leave a Reply

