Inversion

You know who’s loving this inversion? 

My dogs! They are typically outdoor pups, but they are basically never leaving the house right now. 

For anyone unaware of the phenomenon, we (in Northern Utah) get a gnarly inversion, whereby cold air gets trapped in the valleys, along with pollution. So, it will be warmer and maybe even sunny up in the mountains and it’s bitter cold in the valleys. It usually only last a couple weeks, but it’s a pretty unpleasant couple weeks.

We are due to get another storm on Thursday/Friday, which should clear the air a bit. It’s a cold storm though, so it won’t warm up much and then the inversion is due to return. I don’t ever remember us having snow on the ground this long. 

So my first day of Crusher training, I could only get 4.5 hours in and it was pretty flat. Kind of a bust. Just kidding, that would be sweet, but I went and ran for an hour with Tyson. Of course, he has his own wikipedia page too. Anyway, I’m not much of a runner, but it’s a lot easier to do when it’s 15 degrees, so we’ll probably go again today.

Oh yeah, and I’m due to head to Colorado next week. I’m thinking about driving. Usually I fly in the winter, but I can save so much money and see a bunch of shops I’d otherwise skip. If it’s going to be dry, I don’t see any reason not to.

Leave a Reply

