Still Winter

Yowsa. Winter hit hard. How do you go from high’s in the 50’s to barely cracking 15. And not for a day or two, but a week straight.

Ok, enough BLW. It’s beautiful at the moment. Cold, and beautiful.

Things have gotten pretty desperate for me…I’m considering joining the new Provo rec center for a few months. I haven’t gone to a gym to workout in over 10 years, but between Kelly’s new gig and the artic conditions, I’m tempted. I am definitely an outdoors guy. Riding a bike inside is like surfing dry, it’s just not right. BUT, as of now, I am doing nothing. And something is decidedly better than nothing. They have a daycare at the facility, so that’s sounding pretty good. If Kelly’s working, I can load up Piper and Rory and get a wee bit of fitness while Haley and Morgan are in school. We’ll see. I’m not sold just yet.

And of course, I’ll be skiing soon. We’ve gotten a ton of snow in the past week. 22″ in 24 hours at Sundance on Saturday, but I have to figure out the scheduling a little better.

Plus, Piper is sick. She was up a lot last night coughing. It’s so sad. She hardly has a voice. We may have to take her to the doc soon.

In other news, I got a new frame today!! Pretty stoked. No pictures until it’s built though. Rules are rules. Pretty sure it’ll be used in our booth at Outdoor Retailer next month. Yes, the winter show, but it’s a good conversation starter. So, I’ll probably hold off riding it until at least then.

The way things are going, I figure I’ll ride the cross bike most of the winter. Knobby tires mean you work harder and/or go slower, both of which are good for staying warm. Plus a little extra traction can’t hurt. I’d have to get out at all for any of this to be relevant, I guess, technically.

Leave a Reply

