5 Days in Vegas= XX Years off your life

I’m a couple days back from my annual “vacation” in Vegas and woooheeee, was it a whirlwind.

I left Monday morning around 4:30…the plan was to leave around 6:00, but then a kid woke up and I was like “I can stare at the ceiling for an hour or I can just go”…so I just went. Dirt demo all day Monday, followed by a quick ride. Got to stay in a house one of my brands rented that night.

*Side note, this is the day the big flood came through and wiped out the 15, so I was lucky I was down there early.

Tuesday, I got up early and rode again! My partner from CO came in early that morning and we were back at Dirt Demo, followed by a sales meeting/dinner and finally getting to our room for the week.

Wednesday was pretty full up with meetings and then straight out to ‘Cross Vegas. By the time that was over, I crashed pretty hard.

Thursday was even more full up and then I went and raced a criterium sponsored by Zappos. I rode the master’s race. It was fast. I was way better than at master’s nationals until I came apart with about 7 laps to go. Ended up 8th. We were going to hang out for the pro race, but then a drunk or something walked into the women’s pro field and they cancelled the rest of the races. We had a couple close calls in our race too, including one with a wheelchair, so you know, crowd control could have been better. Went out to ice cream and then took all the guys I was with back to their house and then back to the strip. My CO guy flew out that night, so I had the place to myself, but I was pretty worked so it was promptly to sleep.

Friday I had a couple more important meeting and then got on the road in a hurry. My headlights went out the night before. I drove around Vegas with my brights on, but figured that would be moreso frowned upon in Utah, so wanted to make it home before dark. With losing an hour with the time change and an extra hour detour due to the flood, I had my work cut out for me, but like a true driving professional, I persevered.

Got home and ,of course, had a massive case of the Interbike flu. Seem to be finding my groove now…just trying to catch up on all the work!

Leave a Reply

