Holy Ground and a Rant…

I had a weekend.  It consisted of both a Saturday and a Sunday.  They were both nice in their own way, and now that they have passed I am beginning a new week, which like most weeks is beginning with a Monday. 

Saturday I bailed on the state TT to do some house projects.  I would consider myself about 48% successful in this endeavor, which is to say I did not complete the task assigned myself, but was still left with a better end product than was started with.  Got out with Sleevie in the pm to finally get to the top of Alpine Loop.  He does this ride pretty much everyday, but it’s a little bigger deal for me.  He was chatting the entire way up the climb, and I was only able to respond with primitive grunts.  Anyway, we topped it off with Squaw Peak, which I guess is not PC, so I will go back to the alternative name Mt. Honor Code Violation.  Sleevie dropped me on both descents despite a max speed of 50 mph.  It was pretty much the best ride ever.  3:30 and 60 miles, which sounds pretty not awesome, but it’s at least half uphill.  Maybe more.  Oh yeah, and sense I just nerded off with some numbers there, I also pushed some watts, and burned some calories.  Also, gained some elevation.  My heart also beat several times during the ride.

Side note, Sleevie did the State TT in the morning.  The results were horribly off and he left before they “determined” the official results.  As I have recently been accused of being a “nice guy”, I am going to go on a little rant here…

At what point do we call the timing chips a failure?  It’s June and we are still hearing “as soon as we iron out the bugs, it’ll be great”.  Yeah, I remember hearing that at RMR.  In March.  Also, I have heard from at least one out-of-stater, that timing chips have been the final nail in their coffin not to attend a UCA event.  You see not being a part of the UCA series, they have to rent a chip for an extra $10 to race any race in the Utah series.  So $30 entry fee, $10 late fee (seriously, $10?) and $10 chip fee= $50 to do a local race with little pay-out.  $50 makes sense if there’s a $10k+ pay-out, but not when it’s $300!  The rest of us are lucky enough to buy the chip for $45, which I really wouldn’t balk at if it ensured timely and accurate results, but this has proven not to be the case.  Alright, rant over.  I realize the chips the were brought in because people were always whining about the results being off, so I guess this just proves you can’t please any of the people any of the time.

Back to my world, Sunday was less inspiring as I pretty much did not do anything  in the morning.   Actually I did pretty much accurately predict Philly- call me Nostradumass.  Finally, in the until afternoon, Kelly got me going, and we  took the girls and the dogs out for a hike.  Opposite side of timp from the day before, but just as rad.  That hill is something special.  I am positive of it’s healing properties.

Kelly made me birtday cake after dinner.  Yes, my birthday was long gone by that point, but you know, any excuse for cake, right?  It also wound up being my breakfast.  Draw you own conclusion there.

9 thoughts on “Holy Ground and a Rant…

  1. Not to ever note I told you so, because you surely had nothing to do with it, but may I support your point with the following

    http://sandros2.blogspot.com/2009/04/chips-dips-chains-whips.html

    I’m agast that a TIME TRIAL had scoring issues. I could single handedly score a time trial: Hit the LAP button on a stopwatch and write it down. Subtract the start time and viola(!!) your finishing time. The one with the lowest time wins. Sort from there for finish spots (excel can even do all of your calculations and sorting for you). Absolutely NO NEED for a timing chip.

    I’m sorry that Utah is going through this. I hope it works out soon so I can come back to Utah for residency and not have to waste money on some little piece of plastic junk to play bikes.

    Think they used chips at philly yesterday?? At the TT at the Dauphine?? Doubt it…

    Glad you enjoyed your weekend. I know I did. First weekend not working in a month. Only two more weeks of long hours….counting down.

  2. Just re-read your post, and I’m afraid I look like a nice guy again. You know, in comparison.

  3. BTW…I’m all for being epic and all, but with his history, why TF was sleevie CLIMBING after a TT…is he trying to get his knee to have an epic fail?

  4. i guess now that i am on wordpress my new identity needs to be approved before i can talk smack with reckless abandon.

Leave a comment